Writer of Soul-Searching Snark

Raggae in the AK

Have you ever had those moments when out of nowhere you realize that you’re happy? You know, when you’re walking along and notice that you’re smiling and your heart is floating around in your chest. It’s not like I’m a depressed person and don’t find happiness in everyday things, because I do. I make it a point to laugh about something daily–even if it is my own foibles, which are many and usually pretty darn laughable. Just to name a few recent ones: tadpole in my shoe when I fell into the pond, giving myself a concussion when I whacked my head on a beam while searching for my cat, or hooking my ear with the treble hook while salmon fishing.

My darling nephew is visiting Alaska for the first time and on the way to Whittier to go halibut fishing, we dropped by Alyeska and took the lift up the mountain. Gorgeous!

View from the Top

We walked around in the whipping wind and marveled at the 7 glaciers. On the way back down the mountain, I had one of those OMG-I’m-happy moments. We were crowded in the tram with a bunch of Germans. The view was crystal clear. I was with my nephew and wonderful husband in the most beautiful place in the world with Bob Marley serenading us. Steel drums, guitars and a thumping bass beat out the tone “Three Little Birds.”

“Don’t worry about a thing,
‘Cause every little thing gonna be all right.
Singin’: “Don’t worry about a thing,
‘Cause every little thing gonna be all right!”

View From the Tram--Everything is Going to be All Right

I thought to myself–this is what happiness is. It’s the little things shared with your favorite people that makes life worth living.

Leave a Reply

