Writer of Soul-Searching Snark

Editing… Again!

So far I’ve really enjoyed the editing process for The Redneck Ex. The editor I’m working with has been great. For the most part, I’ve not questioned any of her edits. For example, the removal of the word “that.” I swear I already took all those out, but apparently not. There were two places where we had a discussion. She asked that I change something that I felt strongly should stay the way it is. After explaining my rationale, she agreed. No problems there.

We’ve been through 2 complete edits and she sent the mss to the copy editor. I received it on Friday and have been going through it. I’m in shock. I absolutely can not believe there are that many errors in this book! My God, how many times have I edited the darn thing, even before it went to the editor? I’m a fairly good writer (grammatically speaking) to begin with. And yet, there are all kinds of errors in this thing. One thing that I’ve found interesting is that there are sentences out of order in the copy-edited piece.

How does that happen? I always assumed copy-editing was a case of copy and paste, but apparently it’s not. I wish I could blame all the corrections required on mistakes by the copy editor, but unfortunately, that’s not the case. So, after reading the mss one more time, I need to make a list of corrections for the editor.

I’ve often heard at conferences that no matter how good your story is, you need to be able to write well to sell it. I’ve heard folks explain it like this: If an editor is faced with a marginal story that requires a few edits and the next NY Times bestseller that needs tons of edits, he’ll go with the marginal story. Now, I know why. My stuff didn’t require that many changes/ corrections and it’s a tedious process. I can’t even imagine the work that would go into editing the first novel I wrote. What a nightmare!

So, I’m off to edit land. At least it’s cool there.

Comments on: "Editing… Again!" (3)

  1. Haha, I’m jealous. I would kill to be at the point where Time’s Eye is sitting in front of an editor. 🙂 Way to go and good luck. I hear Editing Land can be a bit dark; don’t get eaten by a grue. 🙂

  2. So, far no darkness and we’re almost through with the process. I’m really looking forward to seeing the cover! I’m hoping for a bare-chested man with great abs!

  3. Sometimes I’m not sure what I like more – writing or editing. Okay, call me weird. But like you, I’m always amazed at what errors others find after I’ve been through a story thirty-two times with a fine tooth comb. Good post!

Leave a Reply

