Writer of Soul-Searching Snark

My friend, Jan Morrill asked this question in her blog post today. Jan Morrill’s Thoughts Over Coffee:http://jansthoughtsovercoffee.blogspot.com

When I first started writing Redneck Ex, I pictured Dwight Sullivan (the redneck ex-husband) as having Brad Paisley’s sense of humor, Toby Keith’s brawn and Trace Adkins’ sex appeal. Talk about the ideal man, right?

How on earth could I find an actor to portray those qualities? Funny actors? Will Farrell doesn’t do it for me. Luke Owen would be nice, but he doesn’t have Dwight’s dark brooding looks. Brawn? Ummm. Dwayne Johnson, AKA The Rock, while absolutely drop dead gorgeous really didn’t fit the role. Redneck never comes to mind when I think of him.

As for sex appeal? The list is long: Sam Elliot, Bradley Cooper, Johnny Depp, Hugh Jackman, Colin Firth (be still my heart,) Gerard Butler… anyway, you get the point. So, what actor can be funny, tough and sexy? There are several, but the one that came to my mind as I wrote Dwight’s scenes was Jake Gyllenhaal. Can he play a cowboy/country boy. Can you say Brokeback Mountain? Tough, military dude? Jarhead. He doesn’t have to be a comedic actor, but someone with a sense of humor, which shines during interviews. He doesn’t take himself too seriously.

Here we go:
Redneck Ex Hollywood premiere November 23, 2013 starring: Jake Gyllenhaal as Dwight Sullivan and hey, while we’re reaching for the stars (ha! get it?) Julia Roberts as Summer Leigh Johnson.

Comments on: "Who Is Going to Star in the Movie Version of Your Book?" (7)

  1. Jake definitely captures Dwight’s essence. But hmmmm . . . I’m not sure about Julia Roberts, or about the chemistry between the two. I find myself picturing Reese Witherspoon for some reason. But, it’s YOUR movie! What gaul I have to assume I might be your casting director. 🙂 I look forward to the premiere regardless of who stars – it’s the story I love, after all.

  2. Madison Woods said:

    OMG I love the cover of your book. I like Julia Roberts. I think if Goldie Hawn were younger, she’d be good, though. I’ve never heard of this Jake guy you mentioned, but I’m sure you have chosen well.

  3. Madison! You need to come out of the woods more often, girl! Never heard of this Jake guy? 🙂

    Claire, you chose a good one for Dwight. As for Summer Leigh, there’s an actress who’s work I love that might be a contender: Natalie Zea. She plays Winona Hawkins, the love interest of Raylan Givens (Timothy Oliphant) in the TV series Justified.

  4. OK, “there’s an actress who’s work I love” was supposed to be “there’s an actress whose work I love.”

    Gads! Where’s an editor when you need one?

  5. Oh, good suggestion, Duke. Although, I do prefer the character Ava over Winona. Either would be good.

  6. I’m not going to dip low enough to say my feelings were hurt, but the fact you never considered me in the staring role is a clear indication your search for leading men was limited to what I like to refer to as a small group of handsome dudes, who can act. Next time you might want to consider me, or you could provide a couple of free tickets to the movie, whichever you prefer. Unless you want to continue to destroy my chances of becoming a Hollywood movie star, or going to see the movie I’m not in.

  7. Goodness, Jack,
    I didn’t mean to offend. I didn’t think you’d consider lowering your standards to act in a Hollywood Blockbuster, Academy Award winning movie. I was certain you were content in your musical theater roles. Next time, I’ll suggest you as the leading man.

Leave a Reply

