Writer of Soul-Searching Snark

Procrastination

It’s absolutely amazing what I will do in order to avoid doing what I’m supposed to be doing. Thank God for the internet. No chance of ever being productive as long as I have a Wifi connection. Writing? Huh? Reading? What? Sewing? Who? Exercising? Who did what now?

Nope. I sit at my computer. At least the current WIP document is open. Its nice little icon shows up in the task tray, but I ignore it. If an e-mail pops up, I’ll stop everything. So what if it’s an ad from Mother Earth News. It’s way more important that my next NY Times bestseller. According to my horoscope I’m supposed to meet someone today who’ll give me inspiration. Should be fun since no one ever comes to my farm. According to the Are You Good or Evil quiz, I’m evil. Big surprise there. My online Tarot reading went well. Lots of fame and fortune in my future (I’d prefer it in my present, but one can’t be too demanding when dealing with the universe.)

Fame, Fortune, Future-- Pissy, Petulant, Present

The current project that is a source of procrastination is a baby quilt. I can’t understand why. I love sewing. The only excuse I can come up with is that I don’t have a dedicated sewing space. The house in Barrow had a sewing room. Here I have 2 tables set up behind the couch. Fabric, cats and dogs litter my living room. It’s annoying and frustrating. Yeah, I know–a lame excuse.

Maybe I’ve used up all my creative energy developing the website. Once you see it, you’ll say, “not very likely.” So, what is it? All I want to do at the moment is crawl back into bed, pull the covers over my head and sleep for 3 days. Early onset depression? Doubtful. Laziness? Probable. So, what’s a girl to do? Yeah, yeah, yeah, I know. Get off my ever expanding backside and sew!

At least this post killed some time. Now, I’m going back to bed. I can always sew at night. 🙂

Comments on: "Procrastination" (1)

  1. Claire, you speak for so many of us!

Leave a Reply

