Writer of Soul-Searching Snark

Baked Alaska!!

Luscious Ingredients

I’m home sick. I’ll be in Alaska in 6 weeks, but that is too long to wait. What better way to satisfy my longing than making a Baked Alaska? Think about it, crisp lady fingers soaking up brandy, fresh strawberry ice cream and brown-sugar laced meringue. Who can feel bad when confronted with such a culinary delight?

There are a number of combinations available for a Baked Alaska. You can make it as tame or as wild as you like. How about Kahlua and Rocky Road? Grand Marnier and orange sherbert? Frangelico and Mocha Almond Fudge?

Baked Alaska is really simple. Here’s what you do:

Layer a pan with lady fingers (if you can’t find them, you can use a sponge cake, but lady fingers are much better.)

Drizzle lady fingers with about 1/4 cup of chosen liqueur. I used a spot of brandy. You can use more, but it has a tendency to overwhelm the ice cream.

Spread softened ice cream (about a 1/2 gallon is enough for the entire dish) over lady fingers.

Place a second layer of lady fingers over the ice cream.

Drizzle second layer of lady fingers with chosen liqueur (around 1/4 cup or less.)

Cover second layer with softened ice cream (you can use 2 different kinds of ice cream if you desire.)

Place in the freezer for at least 2 hours until it is set up.

Hot and Icy Cold from the Oven!

After dinner, step into the kitchen and make lots of noise whipping up the meringue.

MERINGUE:
4 egg whites (they beat best when at room temperature for 30 minutes.)
1/2 teaspoon cream of tartar
2/3 cup brown sugar

Beat whites until stiff peaks begin to form, add cream of tartar. Slowly add brown sugar until evenly mixed in stiff egg whites.

Remove pan from the freezer and spread meringue over the entire pan. Be sure to seal the edges so there’s no way for heat to touch the ice cream.

Bake in 500 degree oven for 5 minutes. Be sure your oven is preheated!

Remove from oven and serve immediately.

I’ve made Baked Alaska several times in my life, but the coolest (bad pun intended) time was one attempt I made when I lived on the wrong side of the lagoon in Barrow.

My freezer was broken, so I set the dish out on the front step for 30 minutes. I brought it inside, spread it with meringue and threw it in the oven. Even after baking for 5 minutes, the ice cream was so hard it was impossible to cut the cake. Impossible!!

I had to put it in the refrigerator and it took about an hour for it thaw enough to eat.

So, warning. Do NOT put your Baked Alaska outside on the deck when it’s -45 degrees. 🙂

Yummy!! Get Creative and Try Your Own Ideal Combination

Comments on: "Baked Alaska!!" (4)

  1. I have to admit that I have always been intimidated by a Baked Alaska. Thanks for breaking it down–I’ll have to give it a try!

    • @Cakediva. It’s easy peasy. Besides, the worse thing that can go wrong is mushy ice cream. Then, it’s like a meringue topped milkshake. How can you go wrong?

  2. Are you sure you didn’t get your websites confused? This is perfectly sinful, tempting. I’m salivating. I’ve never had Baked Alaska! Can you believe that? (hint, hint)

  3. Madison Woods said:

    Wow! I’ve never had it before, either, Jan… I wonder where on earth we might happen to run across a dish like that???

Leave a Reply

