Writer of Soul-Searching Snark

Pond Perils

Nat/Natalie King/Queen Cole

OMG! I lost a duck. I was freaked out. Circumnavigated the pond–twice. Not a sign anywhere of cute little Nat. Not even a feather. I have 11 ducks and Nat is the odd duck out. I have 2 Rouen, 2 Cayugas, 4 Pekins, 2 weird ones from Feed and Seed (have no idea their breed, but they go together) and Nat–a Crested. We have no idea if Nat is male or female. Nat has a crown so I named him/her Nat King Cole–or Natalie–depending.

Anyway, Nat went missing. At first I suspected the dogs. I’m mad at them anyway, but I knew they didn’t do anything to Nat. They love Nat. We all do. Coyote? The dogs go bonkers when they hear one howling 3 miles away. There’s no way one could get close to the pond. Hawk or Eagle maybe? They can swoop down and fly away with small dogs. Maybe one got my duck. Or a snapping turtle. Before I put the ducks on the pond, I set traps to catch the turtles. I was going to relocate them, but never caught one. Hadn’t seen one in the pond for over a year, so I was hoping they’d found a more hospitable water dwelling in which to inhabit. Nevertheless, I just knew a snapping turtle had slithered into my pond and ate poor Nat.

I cried.

Of course, all of this happened before I was leaving for the weekend and I had to leave Ma in charge of the ducks. Skip forward to Friday night. I’m at a noisy restaurant trying to drink away my sorrows when I see that I have a voice message. All I could hear was….Duck…Pond…Drain pipe….your other brother, Darryl.

The wire-covered pipe in the foreground is a tube o'terror!

Freaked, I ran out of the restaurant (okay staggered) and called Ma. Poor little Nat hadn’t been pulled to a watery grave by a vicious reptile. He was stuck in the pond overflow pipe!

Using fishing line, a plastic bag and a container of water, my other brother, Darryl was able to lure Nat into the bag and pull him out of the pipe like a big game hunter bagging a lion with a drop net.

Concerned for poor Nat’s mental state, I was Googling to see if there was a good duck therapist in the region, when Ma informed me that Nat shook his/her tail feathers and joined the other 10 ducks as if nothing was wrong. 2 days in a drain pipe and no side effects?! Shoot, I needed therapy. The thought of my poor duck being without water, trapped in the cold, dark overflow pipe caused me to hyperventilate.

Instead of focusing on the negative, I took a deep breath and visualized Nat swimming happily with his/her little friends. Instead of drowning my sorrows, it was time to celebrate Nat’s safe return!

When I got home on Sunday, I rushed to the pond for a hug, but Nat wouldn’t comply. Maybe the dogs aren’t so bad after all. They are cuddly.

Comments on: "Pond Perils" (7)

  1. mgmillerbooks said:

    lol. Left me feeling just ducky 🙂

  2. Thoroughly enjoyed this story

  3. Guess everything’s just ducky now around the pond!
    I know he said it first, but I don’t care. Some things are worth repeating.
    🙂

  4. Nat is a lucky ducky!
    So happy he wasn’t hurt and is back in the swim of things. I took a shot to celebrate his return.

Leave a Reply

