Writer of Soul-Searching Snark

Monterey Jack Cheese Soup

There’s a nip in the air. The woods around my house are alive with color. Vibrant yellows, rich reds and blazing oranges assault my eyes as I walk to the upper pond. Gorgeous! Truly something I missed when I lived in northern Alaska. Autumn means cozy sweatshirts, crazy people dressed up like trees roaming through the woods in pursuit of wily bucks, and hot soup.

I shared this recipe on clairecroxton.com (which will be resurrected soon,) but thought I’d highlight it here. You’ll LOVE this soup. It is delish.

MONTEREY JACK CHEESE SOUP ENGAGING STORY 🙂

I had a friend who was absolutely incapable of cooking. Everyone knew of her culinary challenges and only asked her to bring ice or chips to parties. One time, someone with way too much confidence in her, asked her to heat up a bag of frozen broccoli to bring to a party where they were serving a baked potato buffet. Yes. Heating up broccoli. Several of us cringed, but the person who asked it of her had faith.

The result? My friend put the frozen broccoli in a pan with a little bit of water, put the lid on it and left the room. Seconds later, we hear clank, clatter and boom. The pot in which the broccoli was placed exploded. Seriously, the lid flew across the kitchen and broccoli dripped from the ceiling. What happened? My guess is the pan was rebelling because it had sat, undisturbed, in my friend’s cabinet for thirty years and then suddenly it was asked to heat something up. Needless to say. The potatoes were broccoli free.

One day, I’m at my friend’s house and she decides to make soup. Why on earth she thought she had the ability to actually cook something is beyond me. In the middle of the preparation, she got a phone call and I ended up making the soup. Thinking back on it, I think it was one of those prearranged calls like you set up when meeting some dude you met online for coffee. Because I’m confident that my friend would never have been able to make this. It’s not difficult, but it does require an attention span longer than a gnat’s to complete. Don’t get me wrong, she’s brilliant, just not in the kitchen.

The ingredients sound a wee bit odd, but it is one of the tastiest soups I’ve ever made.

MONTEREY JACK CHEESE SOUP RECIPE:

2 cups chicken broth
1 cup finely chopped onion
1 cup diced, peeled tomatoes
1 4 oz. can chopped green chilies, undrained
1 teaspoon minced garlic
6 tablespoons butter
6 tablespoons flour
5 cups hot milk
½ teaspoon salt
½ teaspoon pepper
3 cups coarsely grated Monterey Jack cheese—approx ¾ #

Mix together chicken broth, onion, tomato, green chilies and garlic. Bring to a boil. Cover. Reduce heat to moderate and summer 10 minutes.

In another pan—melt butter and stir in flour. Stir constantly for 3 minutes. Add 3 ½ cups of hot milk—1/2 cup at a time. Cook 7 minutes until thick.

Stir milk mixture into broth. Add remaining milk seasonings and cheese. Stir constantly until cheese is melted.

May be made up to 2 days in advance. Store with plastic wrap directly on the soup.

Serve with tortilla chips.

Comments on: "Monterey Jack Cheese Soup" (7)

  1. hahaha! I think your friend was my sister. I can’t boil water. If it doesn’t come in a can or bag, I can’t cook it. Take pity on us “cooking challenged”. Good thing we have you around!

  2. Um…wait. Are these people dressed up like trees REALLY pursuing both wily bucks AND hot soup? I ask because, as a deer hunter, I’ve yet to see hot soup out in the woods. Maybe I ain’t lookin’ hard enough.

  3. @gilmiller, you’re obviously not hunting in the right places. The folks hunting deer around my place are only out here for the soup….and the brownies.

  4. Excellent recipe today thanks for sharing. I really enjoyed reading today’s post.

    Check out this healthy recipe – Cheese Topped Vegetables

  5. I must have been flying (back to Barrow) when you posted it. It sounds wonderful and I can’t wait to try it!

Leave a Reply

