Writer of Soul-Searching Snark

Eggnog Recipe

There are a lot of good things about the holiday season: Christmas trees decorated with rows of garland and shiny ornaments, houses bedazzled with pretty lights with fake Santas residing on their rooftops (don’t get me started on those giant blow up thingies–saw one the other day with Santa in a helicopter. WTH?) and the lovely ringing of the Salvation Army bells.

It’s all beautiful; however, my favorite part of the holiday season is the opportunity to make mulled wine and eggnog. I’m not talking about that stuff that comes in cardboard cartons sold in the grocery store. I’m talking EGGNOG–from scratch.

Trust me, my friends, if you don’t like eggnog it’s because you haven’t had the real thing. So, get out every bowl you own and a couple of mixers so you can whip up a batch of this creamy, luscious delight.

Traditional Eggnog Ingredients
You can make the eggnog without alcohol. It’s just a delicious, but not quite as much fun. 🙂

12 eggs, separated
6 cups milk
2 cups heavy/ thickened cream
2 cups rum (you can also use bourbon)
1+ 1/2 cups sugar
3/4 cup brandy
2 teaspoons ground nutmeg

Traditional Eggnog Directions:
For those of you who don’t separate eggs that often, remember to use 2 bowls for this process. Break the egg shell, use one side to contain the yolk and let the whites pour into a bowl. Then, put the yolk in the mixing bowl and the white in the second bowl. You need to do this with every egg to assure that you don’t get any yolk in the whites because the whites won’t whip if they’re contaminated. Don’t you wonder about the person who discovered this?

In a large bowl and using a mixer, beat the egg yolks together with the sugar for approx 10 minutes (you want the mixture to be firm and the color of butter.) Seriously, we’re talking 10 minutes! It’s very important.

Very slowly, add in the rum and brandy – just a little at a time.
When rum and brandy have been added, allow the mixture to cool in the fridge (for up to 6 hours, depending on how long before your party you’re making the eggnog).

30 minutes before your guests arrive, stir the milk into the chilled yolk mixture.
Stir in 1+ 1/2 teaspoons ground nutmeg.

In a separate bowl, beat the cream with a mixer on high speed until the cream forms stiff peaks.

In yet another bowl, beat the egg whites until stiff peaks form.

Gently fold the egg white mixture into the egg yolk mixture.

Gently fold the cream into the egg mixture.

After ladling into cups, garnish with the remainder of the ground nutmeg.

Comments on: "Eggnog Recipe" (12)

  1. JACKIE JONES said:

    REALLY GREAT E/G WITH THE RUM. I HIGHLY RECOMMEND LIBERAL AMOUNTS THIS SEASON.. WARNING: POSSIBILITY OF DIABETES: SIGNIFICANT WEIGHT GAIN, AND ADDICTION TO THE GREAT FEELINGS YOU GET

  2. MMMMMMMMMMMMM!! I haven’t made eggnog in years…it might be a while before I do, but I surely do like it!

    • Oh Paula, I always wanted to make real eggnog when I lived in Barrow, but the one time I went to get the ingredients I realized it would cost a fortune and ended up with a carton of eggnog (which was astronomically expensive and lousy.) So, I can understand why it will be a while before you make it.

  3. This sounds delicious, but I shy away from anything with raw eggs. Your feelings?

    • Bonnie, I think the fact that the raw eggs are beaten for 10 minutes and the fact that it’s served chilled makes it safe to drink. I’ve never known anyone to have problems from drinking it. Or maybe it’s the booze? It wipes out all the risks. It is definitely delicious!

  4. I love the ‘idea’ of eggnog, but you know how “once burned makes you shy?” When I was 14…yes, only 14! my boyfriend and I got drunk on eggnog at his parents party (no, they didn’t know we were sneaking…) Anyway, I’m a big traditionalist, especially around the holidays. But, I have to confess, eggnog hasn’t crossed my lips since those tender teenaged years. ~ Linda Joyce

    • Oh, Linda that both horrible and hilarious! I can’t imagine anything worse than an eggnog hangover. I had a similar experience with Skoal. When I was 16, I thought I’d be tough and dip some. I’ve never been so sick in my life. To this day, the smell of wintergreen makes me green. So, I completely understand your aversion. 🙂

  5. Madison Woods said:

    Ok, so I didn’t see where you *cook* the eggnog. I saw where you *cooled* it, but not cooked… and thus the reason why I have not tried eggnog. **shiver**shiver**shiver**

    This little business of not cooking it shouldn’t bother me who likes milk still warm from the cow or goat. I realize this. It’s not logical. But I just haven’t been able to try it yet, lol. Maybe yours will be the first…one day.

    • Get over it Madison! It’s delicious!! Bonnie had a similar concern (I was nicer to her in my response, see all the benefits of my friendship?) The eggs are beaten for 10 minutes and I think that essentially “cooks” them. You won’t regret trying it. I might steer you wrong on verb usage and comma placement, but I won’t steer you wrong when it comes to booze and/or food. 🙂

      • Madison Woods said:

        No, it’s not the bacteria – God knows I get myself exposed to plenty of those, lol. It’s the icky consistency of raw eggs that makes me get the **shivers**. But the beating for 10 minutes sounds like it would be enough to actually warm it up enough to do something about that. If I try a little of the rum out first to make sure it’s good, yeah, that’ll make it much easier to try 😉

  6. It’s the booze that cooks the eggs. Put in enough rum or brandy and any bacteria in the eggs is gonna be dead. It’s only non-drinkers like me who might be at risk. And I’m here to tell you, this eggnog is worth the danger.
    My family used to make something we called Tom and Jerrys., Severely beaten eggs and powdered sugar. Oh yeah. I left out the main ingredient. Jack Daniels. Lots of Jack.

Leave a Reply

