Writer of Soul-Searching Snark

in both wit and emotion that cannot fail to stir your heart.

C’mon y’all. How cool is that?!

Kathy Wheeler reviewed Redneck Ex for Bookend Babes. I can’t tell you how nervous I’ve been over reviews. Shoot, I’m even nervous to have friends and family read Redneck.

As you know, my dear friend Amethyst had a baby gem back in November. Amethyst is a stunning woman–dark eyes, silky black hair and luscious curves. Her smile is so dazzling the sun disappears from the arctic sky and pouts for several months every year. Her fiance is stop-you-in-your tracks handsome and when he smiles . . . lordy! So, imagine my absolute shock when she told me that she hoped she had a pretty baby. She was concerned that she would have a homely child. She feared her friends and family would gush over her baby in her presence and then walk away shaking their heads thinking: Holy crap. How could two such beautiful people spawn a troll?

I promised Amethyst that I’d be honest. I’d tell her if her baby looked like a spider monkey on crack. And for the record, she doesn’t. She’s the prettiest baby EVER! Apologies to my nieces and nephews, but . . . get over it.

I know, you’re now thinking, what the heck does this have to do with book reviews? Let me tell you. My fear was that my baby, Redneck Ex, would be like an ugly baby. Folks smiling and gushing in my presence and when talking amongst themselves asking: How the hell did this drivel get published?

My need for constant reassurance bothers me. I usually walk through life with confidence. Sure, it’s a ruse, but for the most part people believe me to be a capable, self-assured woman. I can’t explain how vulnerable I feel having folks read my work. I’m sure as I develop as an author, I’ll grow a thicker skin and won’t have so much invested in each work. Or maybe not. Maybe every six weeks when Nora Roberts releases a new book, her stomach still roils and her palms sweat. Who knows? It’s my goal to find out though!

Amethyst promised me to tell me the truth about Redneck Ex. I hope you will too. In the meantime, from the reviewer’s lips to God’s ears:

This debut author’s novel will grip your heart in the first two pages. I expect Ms. Croxton will have many more successful endeavors to follow. Her wit is unparalleled, balanced perfectly with gripping emotion.

Comments on: "Claire Croxton’s positively delightful…" (14)

  1. All babies are cute and all first novels have a heart and soul poured into them. I can’t wait to read this. I hope you sell a million.

  2. Just as moms never develop thick skins about their children, I don’t think we’ll ever develop thick skins about our writing. It’s part of the beauty of being a writer, that we so deepy love what we create.

    I could give Redneck Ex a great review based on the bits and pieces I’ve already heard, but I know it will be even better when I read it in its entirety. So, my review will follow soon.

    • I’m really looking forward to your review, Jan. I know you’ll tell me the unvarnished truth! You’ll even make me feel all warm and glowing when you do. 🙂 I can’t wait to see Broken Dolls and Redneck Ex next to each other on the NY Times Bestseller list.

  3. mgmillerbooks said:

    “Unparalleled wit.” That’s you all over. Congrats on such a great review! And remember, “Perfect confidence is awarded to those less talented as a consolation prize.”

    • Thanks, Mike. I think Dusty summed it up last night when he was talking about getting nervous before speaking. He said that those folks who got nervous even after speaking to crowds of thousands every week were the ones who were worth listening to. I’m sure the same holds true for authors. With every book, we’re revealing a little more of our souls. Oh, I just realized I’m writing the wrong genre. I should be writing Southern Gothic because my soul is pretty darn dark.

  4. I know what you mean. But I meant every wordb I hope mine turns out half as well.

  5. I laughed out loud at your post and if that is any indicationof the content of your book, I’m sold. Well done andgood luck. Iris

  6. Wow-wow-wow!!! We’re as proud as new God-parents!

  7. Claire, I know how you feel about your writing and your book, but my snarky friend, you have nothing to worry about. I absolutely love Redneck. Of course I heard bits and pieces in group and already loved it but when I read the first chapter, I fell harder and deeper. (geez, I sound like Luna now) Summer Leigh is so damn real. Her emotions, her swearing, her faults and strengths, and you write her to a T. Hmm . . . like I said, we channel the great ones! Can’t wait to read more.
    Ruth

  8. I’m with Kim, we are ALL very PROUD of your success. Congrats on the great review.

Leave a Reply

