Writer of Soul-Searching Snark

The word of the day: eudemonia. Learn all about it from my friend, Jan Morrill.

Jan Morrill Writes

Sometimes, Dictionary.com posts a Word of The Day that begs to be posted on my blog. Today’s word was:

eudemonia

\ yoo-di-MOH-nee-uh \  , noun;

1. Happiness; well-being.
2. Aristotelianism. Happiness as the result of an active life governed by reason.

I have to say, this is one word that does not sound like its meaning. In fact, before I read the definition, I thought it was a disease. Well, what a nice disease to have.

Here’s what brings me eudemonia:

1) Genuine laughter, especially a child’s or baby’s uncontrollable giggle.
2) Joy that wags from tail to nose when my dogs welcome me home.
3) A phone call, text or email from my kids.
4) Arriving home to a dinner cooked by my husband.
5) Being with family and friends who accept me for who I am.
6) Touching someone with something I’ve written.
7) A spring day.

What brings eudemonia to your life?

View original post

Comments on: "" (2)

  1. What a cool word! Eudemonia is from the Greek “eu-” meaning good and “-demoen” meaning spirit.

Leave a Reply

