Writer of Soul-Searching Snark

I’m so excited to welcome Amie Louellen, a fellow Wild Rose Press author, to my blog. Look at her! Isn’t she gorgeous? All springy and smiling. Her latest release, Love Potion Me, Baby sounds like a hoot and a half. Anyone who can quote Albert Einstein in a romance novel has my admiration:

Any man who can drive safely while kissing a pretty girl is simply not giving the kiss the attention it deserves. (Albert Einstein)

That Einstein was a genius!

Read what Amie Louellen has to say about naming characters and then check out the blurb from Love Potion Me, Baby. Then . . . here’s the biggie, go to TWRP or Amazon and BUY THE BOOK!

Something About a Name

An excerpt from Love Potion Me, Baby by Amie Louellen

“Mr. Van Sant, I don’t think—”

“Brice.” He buried his lips in the hollow behind her ear and nuzzled fiery kisses down her neck to the collar of her navy blue interview-suit.

“B-B-Brice,” Suzanne started, trying to think of some valid reason for him not to kiss her, but her befuddled brain couldn’t conjure up even one. “I—I’m not sure this is acceptable cafeteria conduct.”

He lifted his head, and Suzanne was shocked by the desirous light in his pale eyes.

“You’re right. We can go to my office.”

Anticipation skimmed down her spine at the thought of being alone with this gorgeous man, then reality returned. She shook her head.“No! I mean, you don’t even know my name.”

“And what’s in a name?” he paraphrased as he lifted her visitor’s badge to read it. “Suzanne. When a Rose by another name would taste just as sweet.”

Brice just said it all…or maybe it was Shakespeare.

What is in a name? And yet names are just about the most important things we give our babies, and for you writers out there, our characters. Names reflect a lot about the character, the time period, and the part of the country we live in.

Each name has its time.

I once read a book set back in the Middle Ages. The heroine’s name was Jennifer. It was a fabulous book. In fact, it’s still on my keeper shelf. But I kept thinking, “was Jennifer a name back then?” I know Guinevere was. It’s at the root of Jennifer. Now, whether or not Jennifer was a name is a moot point, because now, I’m out of the story and wondering.

I went to school with a girl named Betty. She was the only Betty in our class though there were four girls named Lisa. There were 129 of us. It’s easy enough to figure the math on that one. But back in the 40s and 50s, Bettys were much more common and Lisas were harder to find.

Consider the Source.

There are a whole slew of boy names that have been turned into girl names, like Ashley, Whitney, Lindsay, Leslie, and a host of others. Sidney became Sydney. I’ve even seen girls named Ryan, Michael, and Blake. It’s cute to hear of girls named these once-upon-a-time masculine names, unless you’ve got a very male guy in your family with one of these names. Now it doesn’t seem quite as manly anymore while he still goes out huntin’, fishin’, and climbin’ light poles for the electric company.

I’m guilty of this too. I had a heroine (once upon a time when I first started writing contemporary) whose name was Hunter. I thought it was so cute—still do. I sincerely apologize to all the huntin’, fishin’, light pole climbin’ guys named Hunter.

This has made the couples who are having boy babies go back to the older names—Owen, William, Luke, Matthew. Not many girls out there named Chester.

Nicknames.

Suzanne’s name originally was Dolly. It’s a hoot to go back and look at those first notes. I thought Dolly would be a great name for a character. I still do, but it just wasn’t her name. I was a little hesitant to name her Suzanne. But Brice plunged right in taking it one step further and calling her Suzy. See, I have a sister Susan, who we’ve called Suzy her entire life. Though I’m pretty sure Susan is on all of her Ph.D. documentation.  The name game is why I dedicated the book to her. She shares this dedication with our sister, Sandy. Oops, sorry! Sandra.

Somehow I managed to be the only child in the family who doesn’t have a name that can be shortened into a nickname. Even Mike (my brother) got to change to Michael when he “grew up”.  Instead my parents lengthened my name which is how I became Amie Louellen. But that’s a story for another day.

So naming is important. Sometimes I know the character’s names before I know anything else about them. Sometimes not. Sometimes I try to name a character one name and the rest of the characters won’t oblige and call them that. If nothing else, I at least try to corral them around and get a meaningful name that reflects what I want to show of the character.

Be they a character or a living breathing child, bear this in mind. In the immortal words of my brother (as he was preparing to name his unborn child), “If you have a kid and name him Cecil, he’ll grow up to be…well, a Cecil.”

You just have to figure out if a “Cecil” is what you need!

Claire aside: Did I tell you about the dragon that showed up on the shores of Loch Lonnie? I think I’m going to call him Cecil!! 

Love Potion Me, Baby

Blurb: Suzanne Rose never intended for Brice Van Sant to drink a cup of her homemade herbal shampoo.  And she certainly didn’t expect an impromptu marriage proposal from the hunky CEO.

After an incredible wedding night, Brice wakes unable to remember his bride’s name or why he proposed.

Too late they realize the bright blue shampoo is responsible. Almost like…a love potion!

Brice doesn’t believe in love. But as chief executive of the area’s largest pharmaceutical company, he needs that formula. He strong-arms Suzanne into reproducing it for him, demanding that she pretend they are happily married until it’s recovered.

As Suzanne struggles to remember the shampoo’s ingredients and forget their perfect wedding night, she finds herself falling for her husband. Can she convince Brice that love is a chance worth taking before she loses her heart to him forever?

Excerpt:

She smiled, and Brice felt the warmth go straight through him. She had a home-town, girl-next-door look that somehow made a man forget things he was better off remembering. Like the promises Brice had made to himself when his father left. Like the fact that if he made love to Suzanne again it would be disastrous for everyone involved.

Let her go, his internal voice commanded.

Brice’s legs started to move, his feet taking step after step until he reached her side.

“I had fun,” she replied.

Tell her goodnight. And walk away.

“You’re a natural,” he said instead. “You should play more often.”

“Maybe I will.”

He could see questions in her eyes, questions he didn’t want to answer.

Without permission from his brain, his hand reached up and loosened the towel covering her hair. Damp, copper-colored curls, sprang free from their confinement and bounced across his fingers. “Maybe you will,” he repeated.

Turn away. And whatever you do, don’t kiss her.

“Tell me to stop,” Brice demanded in a husky whisper as his head lowered closer and closer toward her luscious mouth. “Tell me.”

“I can’t,” she said and raised her lips to meet his.

Brice could no more prevent the kiss than he could re-route the sun. The caress was destiny or fate or serendipity. Kismet. It was out of his control. Never before had anything taken such complete command of his mind and body. Nothing except for a cup of blue shampoo and its redheaded maker who haunted his every waking moment.

********************************************************************************************

Oh, KISMET!  How can you resist Love Potion Me, Baby?

Here, let me make it easy for you.  Here’s how to buy it on Amazon and here’s how to buy it on The Wild Rose Press (just for the record, the authors make more in royalties if you actually purchase it from the publisher’s website)

Here’s a little more about Amie Louellen.  You want to sit down and have coffee with her, don’t you? Nope. Make that mojitos.

Amie loves nothing more than a good book.  Except for her family…and maybe homemade tacos…and shoes.  But reading and writing are definitely high on the list.

Fun and contemporary, whimsical and sexy Amie’s novels are true love stories with a guaranteed happy ending.

Born and bred in Mississippi, Amie is a transplanted Southern Belle who now lives in Oklahoma with her deputy husband, their genius son, a spoiled cat, and one very hyper beagle.

When she’s not creating quirky characters and happy endings, she’s chauffeuring her prodigy to  little league baseball games, guitar lessons, and boy scout meetings. She also loves gardening, cross stitching, and generally anything that can get her out of housework.

Amie is a member of RWA and an award winning author.

Visit her website

And of course, she wants Facebook “likes”

Comments on: "Welcome Fellow Wild Rose Author–Amie Louellen" (20)

  1. Madison Woods said:

    Well, I called it an ‘interview’ on Amie’s FB page accidentally. Sorry. But I loved the guest post and profile. Great job putting this together to both of you!

  2. Entertaining and informative interview! I was completely captivated by “He buried his lips in the hollow behind her ear and nuzzled fiery kisses down her neck to the collar of her navy blue interview-suit.” I still have goosebumps. 🙂 And, I agree, name is everything. I LOVE the name of your book, Amie! Thanks for sharing, Claire!

    • Fun stuff isn’t it, Jan? Like I mentioned, she had me at the Einstein quote. Physicist and lover–what a combo! And honestly, I want that shampoo recipe!!

    • LOL! You might be interested to know that Love Potion Me, Baby was about the 5th title for the book. It was the best I could come up with when I submitted it. I figured the editor would change it and that would be that. Instead I keep getting comments about it. I think that’s awesome!

  3. What a fun concept, Amie!

    I have a character in one of my ms, and it took me forever to figure out her name. She started out as Lily, and had about fifteen others before her name finally revealed itself. 8 years later, she is Maggie, and my dainty feline claimed the original moniker.

    • Sherry, I know what you mean. I had an issue when the mc in my current WIP. I wanted to call him Carmine Carducci. No one liked it. So, he became Joe Carducci. He went from being a mobster to the nice guy everyone wants to be friends with just by changing his name.

      • The hero in my next submission is Blake. And only because that’s what the heroine called him. I wanted his name to be Sloan. But she wouldn’t cooperate. So Blake he is. I’m submitting that manuscript sometime this summer. Cross your fingers and maybe you’ll get to meet him soon! 🙂

  4. Reblogged this on Sisterhood of the Traveling Pen and commented:

    Claire visits with Amie Louellen

  5. Thanks for having me Claire! You’re right–your friends are a HOOT!!

  6. I can’t wait to read this Amie! Congrats and good luck with it!

  7. A great name is 100% important. I started a novel years ago when I needed a strong male name and it just wouldn’t come to be. Then, out of the blue, Nathan McCord stepped forward. Most excellent! And who can argue with Jackson McCullough? What’s in a name? EVERYTHING!!

Leave a Reply

