Writer of Soul-Searching Snark

THE RED KIMONO

I’ll admit that sometimes I may be naive and optimistic about the state of the world out there. Then, I see something in the news that opens my eyes — an “Are You Kidding Me?” moment.” Today, it was the story about a black couple who was denied permission to marry in a church in Mississippi.

Are you kidding me? In this day and age? Have we come no farther than this? According to an article on CNN’s website, Pastor Stan Weatherford said:

“This was, had not, had never been done here before so it was setting a new (precedent) and there were those who reacted to that.”

Does the fact something has never been done before make it right?

Following a wedding that Pastor Weatherford performed at another church, Charles Wilson, the groom, said:

“If it was such a minority of people, why didn’t the majority stand up…

View original post 579 more words

Comments on: "" (1)

  1. Thanks for reblogging, Claire. I can’t believe this stuff still goes on, though I suppose that shows my naivety.

Leave a Reply

