Writer of Soul-Searching Snark

The 7-7-7 Game

This morning, I was tagged by author Jan Morrill to play the 7-7-7 game.

  • Go to page 77 of your own book or manuscript.
  • Count down seven lines.
  • List the seven lines that follow.

I have recently passed the point of no return every author of fiction faces. Page 100.  Once you get past page 100 you’re committed to finishing the book. I was thrilled because I have to say that I’m really enjoying writing Loch Lonnie.  Sure, it’s a little out there, but so am I.

autumn pond e-mail

Loch Lonnie is set in Madison County, Arkansas. Eliza Lindsay has returned to her family’s farm to help her father.  After he dies, stray animals keep popping up on her farm. At first it’s a stray goat and a calf, but eventually enough horses roam her pond bank to start her own rodeo stock company. Then, a very hot and extremely sexy Scotsman swims ashore.

Her father was determined to bring a good man into Eliza’s life.  His death opens a vortex between her farm and Aberdeen, Scotland.  Animals and people can be sent through to Arkansas, but nothing except the Arkansas heat gets through to Scotland. The hot Scot and Eliza are faced with the challenge of getting him back home and naturally they fall in love and have lots of steamy, sultry sex.

It’s a Claire Croxton original…of course there’s love, sex and snark.

So, on page 77, Eliza is trying to convince her friend Mindy to go out with Roscoe.  Yes, it’s 8 lines. What can I say? I’m a vain author and want to share ALL my words.

“Damn it. You know finding a man around here is impossible,” Mindy said.

“What’s wrong with Roscoe?” I asked.

“Oh, come on. Would you date Roscoe?”

“He’s my cousin!”

“I know that. I mean would you date someone like him?”

I thought for a second and answered honestly. “He’s kind, can fix things and would dote on you. Yeah, I probably would.”

“He’s an uneducated clod.”

I bristled. “Now wait a minute, here Mindy. We’re talking about my kin here. Roscoe may be a good old boy, but he’s smart, witty and good hearted.”

Comments on: "The 7-7-7 Game" (16)

  1. […] no one tagged me in this game.  Guilty as charged.  But I received a blog notification from Claire Croxton, and the game sounds like fun.  The rules are as […]

  2. I’m already enjoying Loch Lonnie a lot, and your post has such a beautiful photo with it. Some fun, huh?

    • Velda, that’s a pic of the real Loch Lonnie. I view it outside my bedroom window, which is really nice until the ducks start squawking! I’m having a great time writing Loch Lonnie. I’m glad you’re enjoying it.

  3. I absolutely cannot wait to read this book. Even though I get to hear excerpts in our critique group, there’s nothing like reading it, all put together. So get busy! 🙂

  4. If I may be allowed to continue your story:

    Eliza: “So Roscoe didn’t graduate from Yale. Big Deal. George Bush did, and look how he turned out.”

  5. I’m going to doubly enjoy this one because it combines two things I enjoy…a man in a kilt (he does get to wear a kilt at some point doesn’t he?) and your storytelling style 🙂

    • Ha! Madison. Of course he wears a kilt. He emerges from the pond like Colin Firth in Pride and Prejudice only instead of a ruffled shirt, he’s decked out in full highlander gear. God, I love Scotland! 🙂

  6. Interesting. So try this! Pick out, say five of your own manuscripts (okay I did this), gave it to my husband and said choose one. Two hours later he comes back with “I spent two hours responding to your note. I ran out of time.” In essence, he critiqued the 77th page, 7 lines down, of the following 7 sentences. With POV issues, flowery language. blah blah blah. Nice, huh? and still didn’t chose one. Venus and Mars at the height of communication? need I say more?

  7. Eliza Lindsey is a lucky girl. My daddy was always “shooing-off” my potential suitors. Luckily I found one who wasn’t afraid of a Marine Drill Sargent.

    I’ve had the privilege of reading the first chapter of Loch Lonnie. I look forward to adding it to my collection of Claire Croxton books!

    Smiles,

    Linda Joyce

  8. […] check out her blog and read her seven lines of Loch Lonnie. It’s a Claire Croxton original…of course there’s […]

Leave a Reply

